Legislative Control of Cannabidiol (CBD)

Cannabidiol (CBD)

CDB
  • CBD products have been becoming popular in recent years. Some merchants claim that CBD products can bring health benefits such as soothing pain and improving sleep quality. However, these claims are not authoritatively proven by science. CBD comes from cannabis plants. Cannabis has tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), which is a strictly controlled dangerous drug and can lead to hallucinations, addiction, depression, etc., and even psychosis. Experts say it is difficult to isolate pure CBD from cannabis. Most likely, CBD products contain trace amounts of THC, which can be harmful. In addition, CBD can naturally decompose into THC under normal storage conditions, and it can be used to produce THC.
  • To take forward the Government’s plan to list CBD as a dangerous drug under the Dangerous Drugs Ordinance (DDO), the related Amendment Order has been tabled at the Legislative Council for negative vetting. Subject to legislative procedures, the subsidiary legislation to control CBD as a dangerous drug would commence on 1 February, 2023.
  • From 27 October, 2022 to 30 January, 2023, disposal boxes will be placed at ten Government premises across the territory to facilitate the disposal of CBD products. The trade and the public should arrange early disposal of any CBD products in their possession to avoid contravention of the law after commencement of the legal control on CBD on 1 February, 2023.
  • Subject to legislative procedures, CBD will become a dangerous drug on 1 February, 2023. Under the DDO, trafficking (including importing and exporting) and manufacturing of substances in contravention of the law will be subject to a maximum penalty of life imprisonment and a fine of $5 million. Possession and consumption of substances in contravention of the DDO will be subject to a maximum penalty of seven years’ imprisonment and a fine of $1 million.
Press Releases

立法管制大麻二酚(CBD)

大麻二酚(CBD)

大麻二酚(CBD)
  • 近年市面上兴起CBD产品,但商家声称的健康好处,例如舒缓痛楚、帮助睡眠,并无权威科学实证。CBD源自大麻植物,大麻里的四氢大麻酚(THC)会令人产生幻觉、上瘾、引起抑郁等,甚至引发思觉失调,是被严格管制的毒品。根据专家意见,从大麻抽取的CBD难免夹杂微量THC,并已有机会损害健康。而且CBD可于日常储存环境下自然分解并转化成THC,更可被制造成THC。
  • 政府即将落实把CBD列为《危险药物条例》下的危险药物,相关的修订令已提交立法会进行「先订立、后审议」程序。当修订完成后,把CBD列为危险药物的法例将于2023年2月1日开始实施。
  • 由2022年10月27日至2023年1月30日,政府会在全港十个政府处所设置CBD产品弃置箱,以方便处置CBD产品。业界和公众应及早安排处置其持有的任何CBD产品,以免于2023年2月1日起触犯相关法例。
  • 当相关修订完成后,CBD将于2023年2月1日起被列为危险药物。根据《危险药物条例》,非法贩运(包括进口及出口)及制造受管制物质的最高刑罚为终身监禁及罚款500万元。违反《危险药物条例》管有及服用受管制物质的最高刑罚为监禁七年及罚款100万元。

政府电视宣传短片

其他宣传短片